Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Made in Sassenage, le blog de Chifonie
Made in Sassenage, le blog de Chifonie
23 avril 2007

Textured mokume gane, in English (or approx....)

Hello,  
welcome to my English-speaking visitors!

Thinking it could be of interest for some of you, I've translated my "recipe" in English… well, tried to !  I request your indulgence in advance for the translation  :o)

Textured mokume gane:
For the front side, I'm using a mokume gane made of translucent mixed with small shavings of plain polymer clay or alcohol-based inks, metal sheet, and some metallic powder such as pearl-ex sometimes.
I'm covering a sheet of plain polymer clay (which will become the back side) with thin mokume slices, and gently smooth the surface.
Front and back sides are textured with stamps or texture plates.
The shapes are cut out (leafs, butterflies etc…) and 3D formed. Modelling it in 3D is important in my opinion, to give a lively aspect to the small piece of clay.
Then I poke the holes and bake.
When cool, I smear my clay pieces with a contrasting acrylic painting, let it dry and sand. The colour remains only in the marks. It can be nice to take another lighter or different acrylic colour, and do it again in certain places, to add volume effect. You can choose different colours for the front and the back sides etc…
At the end, put some light touches of white acrylic, talking care not to cover completely the previous acrylic colour(s) of course, just to for a final antique touch.

Finally sand and polish, and varnish too if you like a glossy finish.

Have fun!

front_side  detail  back_side broche

Pas de panique les Francophones, c'est juste la traduction du message "recette" ici : http://madeinsassenage.canalblog.com/archives/2007/04/18/4665002.html

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
D
Hello! Like this? I do not speak much English, but try to communicate with the little that I can ingles.you bisuteria this beautiful!! I have a blog bisuteria: http://bisuterialis.blogspot.com
Répondre
L
C'est ça aussi la mondialisation !!!<br /> Y faut que tu traduises tout ça aussi Marguerite parceque autrement on va devenir parano et croire que tu racontes des trucs secrets aux amerlock ;)<br /> Amerlock qui se sont tapés une petite tornade au Kansas soit dit au passage... j'ai pensé à toi...
Répondre
C
Hi Doreen, thank you for visiting and asking!<br /> - For the mokume slab, I'm staking rather : a sheet of coloured translucent with a metal leaf + a sheet of completely translucent + a sheet of coloured translucent(a slightly different colour can be nicer) with a metal leaf + a sheet of completely translucent etc....<br /> - I do not texture the slab itself because I'm "shaving" my slab in parts that I put one against another on a plain "base" surface. So I texture it when my mokume surface is flattend and smoothed. Nevertheless, you can try to do it, but some distortion will probably modify the texture. You can try and let me know :o))<br /> <br /> cheers !
Répondre
D
Thank you so much for the English translation. I enjoy looking at your lovely work!<br /> <br /> I have a question. When you make the mokume gane slab, are all of the layers translucent (except for the metal leaf)? Also, do you texture the mokume gane slab in any way before you slice it??<br /> <br /> Thank you again for the tutorial!!<br /> Doreen
Répondre
C
ho voui, Luce, traduis-le nous en Dâuphinouâ steplé... on est pas des quand-même !!
Répondre
Publicité
Newsletter
La boutique :

CLIC sur le LIEN DE LA BOUTIQUE


etsy_logo

Mes prochaines expos :

Salon des Loisirs Créatifs
de BRIVE LA GAILLARDE
  16-17-18 FÉVRIER

Brive la Gaillarde salon-des-loisirs-creatifs


 toute l'année :
C EST FAIT ICI Grenoble_Boutique de createurs 2021


Boutique
C'EST FAIT ICI  à GRENOBLE

Galerie de la Caserne de Bonne


  


Publicité